Forum home Archived African/Caribbean Weddings

Sit-down west african menu vs. buffet?

I'm new to yayw, but I've got a dilemma... hope you guys can help...

I'm lucky enough to be having our wedding reception in a really grand mansion house in MOrtimer- near Reading and I think that a sit down, 3 course meal would compliment the whole ambience of the day, but I dont wanna compromise on my african food! lol

I was thinking either a light/medium pepper soup to start or like a platter of nibble type stuff and then the jollof, chicken, stews etc and then some kinda fancy dessert.... mum thinks it wont go down well? Just wondered what you all think? Just to clarify, I'd get my caterer to use 'lazy suzannes' those glass spinning things to allow people to help themselves at the table....

OR

I could do the usual buffet thing, where everyone queues for ages and piles loads of food on their plate! Only reason I'm not uncomfortable with the buffet is cos the venue has a really nice servery section just off from the main room, and if we set a second buffet area up to ease congestion - this might look less exciting than the first one....

ok - feedback pls... ; )PP

Also, at the moment I'm deciding between 2 Sierra Leonean caterers but would like to know if anyone else can make any recommendations??

• T123ukT123uk Posts: 44
    Hi,

Ok I had the same problem when I started planning for my wedding ....I sooo wanted a 3 course sit down menu...but my family thought it soo wouldnt go down well...as ppl come to weddings to dance/eat and drink and look preety..

So the idea of just serving jollof rice and Chicken only as main course wont go down well...

So I decided to break it down ....I'm having the ff:

1. Canapes served by waiting staff at pre-reception.

2. A plated starter of Mild Pepper soup and bread rolls...