Forum home Archived African/Caribbean Weddings

I'd love a traditional zim wedding but don't know how!!

Hi,

I am new to the you and your wedding forum and just wanted to ask advice on how to organise a wedding in Zimbabwe. I am a white british national but my husband to be is Zimbabwean and I would love to have a traditional Zim wedding so we can include all of his family (i think it would be more expensive to fly his family over here as we would have to pay!) in the ceremony. Also is it possible to do this cheaply? I really don't know where to start with organising it and if it is possible!

Thank you all so much!

• ladyveeukladyveeuk Posts: 84
    hi tinkerbell2003

you ae so welcome to this forum. ok where do we start, i am actually zimbabwean myself but getting married here as most of mine and H2b family is here . give me some more details so that i know what to advise u. if you want you can email me and we can discuss further.
  • MrsZ2bMrsZ2b Posts: 53
    hi Tinkerbell2003

I'm zimbabwean as well and i got married here last month as most of mine and hubby(wh's from Zim)'s family are here.One of the other reasons i didnt get married back home was that we couldnt afford it my sister got married in 2006 at the sheraton in harare and they paid up to £16000 inc flights.You need someone there who is happy to drive around viewing places looking for vendors etc and i would suggest that you go there once or twice before the wedding to make sure things are going as you would like.This is a wedding discussion on a zim forum its a lot of pages and dates back to 2006 but you might find some of it relevant ,copy and paste it in your search engine.Some of it is not in English so ur hubby might be able to translate it for you but you will probably get tips on the best venues etc

http://newzim.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=health&action=display&thread=106012

• Thanks for both of your advice.