New to Asian weddings: Please educate me!

Hi folks,

I'm a freelance photographer based in Edinburgh. About 18 months ago I started taking on weddings, so I guess I'm still fairly new to them.

A few months back I was very kindly invited along, as a supplier, to the Asian wedding fair at the Sheriton Hotel. Unfortunately, my daughter was unwell and I was unable to go. However, I was very very nervous and apprehensive anyway. I have never covered an "Asian" wedding. I use inverted commas because I would imagine that different religions and cultures would have different customs, rituals and traditions.

I am very excited at the thought of covering what I'd imagine to be a wonderful vibrant and colourful event, but I'm not familiar with the sequence of events, order things run in and generally what to expect.

I work very much reportage, so capturing things as they happen, but I think it would be important to know what happens and when in order to do this effectively.

Is there anyone who would like to chat about their big day? Perhaps explain to me the different ceremonies and traditions etc? I feel incredibly ignorant, having never been to an Asian wedding and not knowing what's involved.

All help greatly appreciated and I hope you don't mind me posting!?

All the best, Helen

• hemini_mhemini_m Posts: 59
    Hi Helen,

Unfortunately it can take a long time for someone to explain the Asian wedding and many traditions that come along with it. The Hindu ceremony/traditions are not all exactly the same, but the main parts of it can be found here -http://www.redhotcurry.com/culture/hindu_wedding.htm

It gives a very basic overview, and like I said not every ceremony will be the same, because India is so diverse, depending on which region you come from has different traditions.

The easiest way to get acquainted is to google the different ceremonies - hindu, islamic etc, and hopefully you'll get some overview of them.

Sorry I can't be of more help.
  • Hi Helen