44 year old, what sort of dress???

Hi everyone, this is my first post on here.

I am getting married next year in Cyprus (it's my first time.......rather too choosy!!!) and I want an ivory wedding dress, full length with a small train. Only thing is I really don't want to look like mutton dressed as lamb. I'd love to go for a full Cinderella type dress but I have horrid pictures in my mind of when bet lynch married gilroy.!!image

Is it acceptable to get married in a proper wedding dress at my age? With a tiara and bridesmaids and my son as a ring bearer. This is something I have dreamed of since i was little.

• anna333ukanna333uk Posts: 344
    Welcome to the forum. Alot of us older ladies have doubts, but if you look through the pics of married ladies on here its all in our minds. Once you start trying on dresses you will see what looks good on you!

I'd say go for it, Im having daughter and stepdaughters to be as bridesmaids, and younger son as pageboy, other son and stepson to be as ushers. Also having a tiara. Cant wait!

xx
  • JoolyukJoolyuk Posts: 280
    Congratulations and welcome to your and your wedding MrsD2B2009. Listen here missy, this is your first time so you can jolly well have whatever you want!!!

I am having whatever i want. I am getting married in Cyprus this year. It's my second time and i am having a full length wedding dress with a train too! It's in ivory and gorgeous. I got it from Debenhams. It's not too fussy just very flowy.

Where are you getting married in Cyprus? Good luck with all your planning.

• jules-rulesjules-rules Posts: 7,025 New bride
    hi and welcome.

I think you should wear what youR comfortable in and what you want to wear .

Iam 43 , 44 in two weeks and i went for the full on cinderella dress, there are pics on this forum of me , i got married last sat.

I loved the dress and care not if anyone thought i was too old to wear it lol

jules x
  • oldbird42oldbird42 Posts: 515
    Hi MRSD2B2009