money

hiya.

Me and my OH arent officially engaged yet, although spek about it often and feel as though we are.

we have not told anyone that we plan to marry, althoigh im pretty sure its quite obvious.

I would love to get engaged now to get married in approx 1-2 years time.

however, im a student and oh is on low income.but he is insisting that he wants the wedding to be paid only by us alone.Although i dream for my perfect wedding i have done some research on how else we could get married for less money...but he says that he knows i dont really want that wedding, that i want my dream wedding and he wouldnt marry me unless it was my perfect day....yes i would love my dream big wedding, but at the same time i want to maary him.

The thing is, we know we cant afford the big day that he wants me to have, and wont be abelt to afford it within the next 2 years, although we are trying to save. we dont want a relaly long engagement, so he wont propose offically until we know we can soon afford it.

However, i know that if we did get officially engaged now, that my parents would want to pay for most of the wedding....and could comfortably, meaning i can marry the man i love, with my dream wedding, and my oh doesnt have to worry about money for it.

But he is so stubborn, he doesnt want to let my parents pay, he says it their money why should they pay for us to get married(which i agrree with), but they are, have always been, very generous, and i think would even be insulted if we didnt let them pay. but at the same time, this is just my opinion of it all, they may turn round and say they dont/cant pay for any of it....but obviously they wont say whether or not they would until they know we are engaged.