"Save the date" for a wedding abroad

Hi

I am a newbie so please be kind :)

Me and my fiancé are planning on getting married in St Lucia in November 2018.  We are in the early stages of planning the wedding however have come to a stop as the 2018 holidays are not yet on sale so we cannot book anything or get an actual date!

We want as many of our families and friends to join us in St Lucia and have priced up roughly how much it will cost them for either a 1 week or 2 week stay (based on this year and next year's prices). 

I want to send some "send the dates" out to all our potential guests to give them plenty of notice and time to save up if they wish to join us.  However, as we do not have a date yet (and probably won't have until late Spring next year) I cannot give them a precise date to save!

I was wondering whether anyone had sent out "provisional save the dates" informing them roughly what month and year and the location and possible prices???  I want to send something out to let them know so they can save and also so they can advise us as to whether they want to come so that as soon as we can book with the travel agent we can advise how many rooms we will need.

Thanks in advance :)

Dani

• Kitten2014Kitten2014 Posts: 1,489

The trend I've seen on STD for weddings abroad is about one year. At that point, you would certainly have a date and locations for the ceremony, reception, and accommodations set. If you don't have information to share of this nature, then your guests aren't really able to plan much.

That doesn't mean you can't make an engagement announcement including the fact that the wedding will be in St. Lucia in Nov 2018 "with more details to follow."  This would be completely appropriate send via social media, a wedding website, text, email, or word of mouth.