Guest list

Hi all! Total newbie here, I'd really appreciate some advice image

My partner and I got engaged Christmas '14 and are looking to book our wedding date for April '16. I have a small family, so my part of the guest list (including friends too) probably only takes up about a third, with my fiance's family (and only a few friends) taking up the rest of the list. We are currently at about 90ish for full day guests, and only about 30ish for the evening. 

I think we really need need to cut down on day guests, but my fiancé (who is not as assertive as me!) has decided that he's just inviting his whole family to avoid arguments/awkwardness and that's that. I have tried to say to him that we don't need to use our wedding day as a big family reunion (although I appreciate that some would disagree with that); he also has loads of cousins, a few of which he is not close to. Despite us being evening invites to one cousin's wedding a few years ago, we are now inviting them to the whole day!! 

It's also awkward in that we can't just say 'no cousins' as he has some which he is very close to, and I only have three anyway. Equally 'no children' would potentially be just as awkward. Anyone else struggling with this sort of thing? Thanks image

• Memza89xMemza89x Posts: 1,533 New bride

Have you looked at venues yet? Maybe choose a smaller venue then you will be forced to cut down. We are getting married in a castle and the room holds 60 people including the registrar etc. so we had no choice but to limit numbers. That way it's more of an intimate ceremony with a big party at night. We are having about 55 day guests and 90/100 extra evening guests

• I had a no-children wedding (except my h2b's sons and his only niece). It worked out fine, because like someone else said on here, if guests are given enough notice, they can typically make arrangements. I really don't think adults mind having a chance to have a little me-time in our kid-centric society.