How do I decide who to give me away?

Hi everyone,

Apologies if this topic has already been spoken about, I am new to the page!

So me and my fiancé got engaged a week ago and want to get married this time next year (Nov 2016) so have started to make plans already.

The main thing that is really stressful for me already and something that I can't get out of my head is who do I choose to give me away? So let me tell you a little bit about my situation ....... My mum and dad were married for 23 years, we didn't see dad much growing up because he was a self-employed builder and worked long hours, so didn't really have a close relationship with him. Around 6 years ago mum was diagnosed with MS and my dad couldn't cope and left us when we needed him most. As you can imagine he hurt a lot of people in the way that he did this (which I won't go into too much detail about, but another woman was involved) and I was left to pick up the pieces. It is only recently that I have started to speak to and see my dad and finally build some sort of a relationship with him (after a lot of counselling). Although I will always love my dad, I will never forgive him for what he did and how he handled the whole situation.  

Growing up me and my sister were very close to my grandad (mums dad) and he is the one that has always been there for us no matter what time, whatever we need him for, absolutely anything he is always there for us. I would love nothing more than to ask grandad to give me away and give a speech, but also have my dad at my wedding. The only problem is my grandad and a few other members of my family have not turned up to family events in the past because my dad has been there.