Recession- how long??

What does everyone think about the recession- how long will it last and how bad could it get?

I've heard house prices could fall by up to 50%, and not start to recover until late 2010. I've also heard that 2009 will be the worst year from the aftershocks of late 2008.

How have people been affected? Is anyone else worried?

• i DONT THINK PROPERTY PRICES WILL DROP THAT MUCH , (sorry for caps !) im an estate agent and yes its is quieter but no way near as bad as media makes out , i have been in work between christmas and now and have been busy , by march time i think we will have picked up a lot. x
  • XTinksXXTinksX Posts: 568
    ah thanks lizzie I feel reassured by that. How long do you think before property is worth what it was 6 months ago?
  • LizzyAukLizzyAuk Posts: 509
    Hey hun,

Well I am one of many who has suffered job wise because of the recession and have been out of work for nearly 2 months with no prospects at the moment what so ever, there is not even any temping work for me yet. The recession is due to last until Autumn next year and because the Pound has hit an all time low it's not good so I guess if the BoE cuts interest rates again things might start to pick up and it's forecast that by 2010 it will pick up!

I have never been so depressed in my life and it's like you can't even move to another country as it's hitting the whole world!
  • i dont think long at all , but thats my personal opinion , also depends on area too. I brought my house this year if that makes you feel better ? x
    I feel awful fro all those suffering with redundancy. LizzyA, what are you doing for money?

This is so depressing all round I can't imagine how you must feel.