Forum home Getting started

Outdoor Wedding Ceremony, any Ideas?

Hello all!

I am getting married in July 2011 (long way off but i am an event organiser by trade so i had to jump straight to it) and am looking for a venue that has a civil license to get married outdoors? I know it has to be under a roof, usual under a gazebo, but just wondered if any one has been married, is getting married or knows of a venue that does this?

We are looking to get married in Herts area but I would love all suggestions from all over the UK

Thank you so much!!!

xxx

• I live in Cornwall and are getting married at Polhawn Fort where u can get married outside in the gazebo. Have u thought about having a reg office wedding and then a blessing outdoors somewhere?
  • Thank you for the location image

We have considered it but myself and my H2B wanted to have the ceremony once and a blessing would be wasted on us as we have no religious connections lol

• emoriaemoria Posts: 344
    I am getting married in a registry office on the 31/04/2010 just me, my h2b and our two BF's as witnesses. We're not exchanging rings, not dressing up and keeping the vows to the basics. We're treating this as just the legal part ,

Then on the 2/05/2010, two days later we are having a humanist ceremony in the grounds of my future in-laws farmhouse with 70 guests, a harpist, candle ceremony, a few readings, our proper vows which can be anything we please (we are not religious in the slightest hence the humanist celebrant) and hopefully the sun will be shining down on us....if not we have a plan b which is to move it to a marquee. British weather as it is!

Hope this helps x
  • You can get married outside in the grounds of Knebworth House in Hertfordshire - Its beautiful!

Hope this helps xx
  • H2B and I just had a lovely weekend away in a place called Hinton Grange near Bath which has a gazebo just for this. It's a beautiful hotel, the staff were all very obliging and the food was to die for.