Help! Where do I start??

Hi,

Has anyone else struggled to make the first step in wedding planning?? Me and hubby to be have been engaged for over 3 years so I know I want to marry him....but I can't seem to make the first step and book anything!

I think I am just panicking over making the first step cos the whole process seems so HUGE and daunting....

Any advice?? image

• It does all seem overwhelming at the start but a good idea is to buy one of the magazines that have a planner as often they take you through the order to get things done. Fix a date first and the feel of the venue, time of year and pressure to work to a deadline might kick start it all and shape your choices... at the end of the day ENJOY IT!!! x
  • Hi,

I'm a project manager so have taken the same (boring!) approach to my wedding planning... image

Probably not for everyone this, but I'd have gone bonkers otherwise. Firstly, as LP Miss says, get a load of magazines or trawl through inspiration sites to get a *rough* idea of the overall format of your day. e.g., outdoor bohemian style wedding, formal traditional, trendy city wedding etc.

Good sites to look at are: style me pretty, rock my wedding, rock and roll bride, project wedding... there are loads others around too. Included in this research you should pick up an idea of how much stuff costs (you don't want to decide to have a glam glam wedding but realise halfway through planning that you cannot afford it, for example). Armed with this information you should draw up a tentative budget.

I split the planning into three phases:

1. big ticket items - venue first (it will dictate much of what you do anyway), food/catering, band, photographer, videographer. The best of these tend to get booked up early and do not depend on the 'look'/details being finalised