Do we need to give notice together

We are really struggling to find a date that we can both go to give notice.

I am a teacher so could go during half term but H2B is being sent abroad during that week so he cant. But works shifts so could go at another time.

Does anyone know if we need to go together? Or can we go separately? I really would like to be together as it seems like such a big part of everything but I cant see how it would be possible.

• SP2013SP2013 Posts: 857

We have been told to go together as we live together, if you lived in seperate counties you could do it seperatly but other than that  I think you have to do it together.

• We were told we had to go together where we live as the registrar had to see us together, then h2b was sent out of the room & I was asked questions about him & sign my papers. then h2b was called in & I had to wait outside while he was asked questions about me & signed his forms.  On our local council's website it also stated we had to give notice together.

It might be different in other counties but we are in west sussex, it might be worth checking with your local council's ceremonies team or checking their website xx

• h2b lives in west sussex and i live in Newcastle - we gave notice separately, obviously.  I went along with him, but was left outside.  If you go together, you will be separated at some point to be asked questions.

• We weren't separated at all. Not even for questions.

It all seems very inconsistent. I would check with your local registrar.
  • We were told by the registrar it's due to sham marriages. H2b said he asked if they get alot of them through the office we used & apparently they do & forced marriages, so maybe that's why we were seperated & asked individual questions.

There was another couple that were being seen before us & they were taken in & interviewed seperately too.  Maybe we just looked suspicious heehee image

• beesbees Posts: 835

Hmmmm, it's all so confusing.