Legal requirements

Hello, I wondered if anyone could help. My fianc?? and I (both British) are living in New Zealand at the moment but are planning to get married in the UK at Xmas 2013. I'm aware that there are some legal requirements that we need to follow but can't seem to find information anywhere that helps! I know that we have to reside in the UK for a number of days before we can legally get married....but I'm not sure how many days (possibly 16?), or if they have to be working days. Also, if we get married over Christmas and there are more holidays than normal will they still count? Does anyone know if this legal requirement is due to UK law, or the requirements for getting married in a catholic church. This is the on,y information I have been able to find online: https://www.gov.uk/marriages-civil-partnerships/overview And it mentions that we may be able to 'give notice' if we live abroad and in a commonwealth country. I am a teacher and our long summer holidays happen over December which makes it the best time for us to come home and get married. I won't break up until 14th Dec (approx) and I'm worried we won't have enough days to legally reside in the country, plus get married, plus have a honeymoon before back at work at the end of January! I'd love to hear if anyone has any ideas. We got engaged 3 months ago and I'm only just starting to think about it all! Ha ha! Xx

• My iPad has changed all the formatting! Sorry it's so hard to read!
  • Hiya,

Would you consider having the wedding in Scotland?

There is no residency requirement there; you can give notice from abroad & then just have to be there in person to collect the marriage schedule etc from the registrar (link to the General Register office below). 

http://www.gro-scotland.gov.uk/regscot/getting-married-in-scotland/i-want-to-get-married-in-scotland-how-do-i-go-about-it.html