when to start plannin! HELP!

hi guys, 

im pretty new to this! been engaged just for just over 6 months and have started to actually look at getting married. 

i know thats the whole idea when you get engaged but it hasn't really come up untill now! 

we are looking to spend loads as we want it to be quite relaxed more like a party that a formal wedding as we're both pretty laid back! 

im just not sure how far in advance we should book! I'm thinking the 20.10.18 would be ideal but I don't know if now is too soon or if I should start looking so I can get what I want and I'm not disapoited! I don't know if booking early will help us buget better aswell! 

any thoughts would be great! 

• MrsLMTMrsLMT Posts: 3,830

I'm getting married March 2018. We have booked our venue, organised wedding insurance, provisionally booked the registrar, bought a few decorations and booked our DJ. 

We have found a few bargains along the way but most is the major decisions will be made later this year and into next year. Both h2b and I are always busy with children and work so didn't want to rush the planning process only to find we weren't happy with things. 

Sometimes I look at the to do list and wonder how I'm going to fit it all in. Lol 

• Nikki-93Nikki-93 Posts: 171

I get married 28th July 2018, we've booked our venue and photographer and reserved the registar. I have found by booking now you get the prices they are currently offering, I have been advised by both venue and photographer that there prices will go up by the time our wedding comes round so by booking early were getting ourselves a good deal. It's also helping us to budget as we know what we need to save towards.

• bella2015bella2015 Posts: 1,903 New bride
    mrsGtobex wrote (see post):

hi guys, 

im pretty new to this! been engaged just for just over 6 months and have started to actually look at getting married. 

i know thats the whole idea when you get engaged but it hasn't really come up untill now!