Unexpected and clueless bride to be

Hi everyone! 

My name is Sophie and I am recently engaged to my childhood sweetheart (of 9 years!) was never expecting to be engaged after all this time and i already invested my “wedding fund” from my parents into property so we will be doing this all on our own  

I have zero knowledge On the wedding scene... and I just wanted to ask if There is such thing as a “chilled out, outdoors wedding”?! Thinking a festival, boho vibe. 

this is really my dream as I have anxiety and would struggle with the stress of a big white wedding I think! 

I wanted to try and keep it around 8k ish (bearing in mind we have a venue that will be free hopefully - haven’t had the awkward £££ convo yet but it is a friend‘s land! and they have confirmed we can use it!)  

AM I BEING COMPLETELY NAIVE?! any help would be appreciated. Planning for 2020 summertime In the UK. If not then will have to look at going abroad. 

• CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

A wedding is only as stressful as you make it (or your family haha!).. If you want low key, minimal fuss - then plan that!

In terms of outdoor - will the whole day be outdoor or just the ceremony? Where will guests eat/sit? Will you have a back up plan for rain? X

• Ashley72Ashley72 Posts: 1,137 New bride

Congratulations on your engagement! Weddings these days are definitely more about what you want and is reflective of you and your fiance than ticking the big white wedding boxes. I think the boho / festival feel wedding is actually quite a big trend at the minute if magazines and the internet is anything to go by. The only thing I'd say to think about is a wet weather alternative, especially in the UK and if this past weekend was anything to go by. Sometimes a DIY venue can end up surprisingly expensive because you need to bring literally everything on site (cutlery, chairs, glasses, toilets!), so be sure to factor all those things in when you're looking at your budget and guestlist.