Wedding Dress...

Hi there!

I'm new to this. Got engaged nearly a month ago, and was quite happily thinking we had loads of time (getting married April 2009) UNTIL I thought about wedding dresses. Aren't all the big sales in January? It'd come in really handy to catch them, but is it far too early to be looking for a dress? If I leave it until next January It'll be really late and I'll probably be panicking! Should I get looking this Jan? Help! Has anyone got any advice?

• bouncy35ukbouncy35uk Posts: 1,416
    hi FutureMrsScott, its never too early to look for dresses, im getting married in 2010 and i ordered mine last month image (i like to be organised)

im not sure on the sales but if you leave the dress til next Jan it may be a bit too close to your wedding but i suppose if you know exactly what you want by then, it might work. sorry if this isnt helpful but im sure someone else will comment and know exactly what theyre talking about image im so full of wedding stuff i tend to talk gobbldy gook lol
  • Hi, with wedding dresses the new collections come out in September for most designers and this is when you will find old season samples being sold off.....

but in reality if you want the dress of your dreams in your choice of size and colour then the sales aren't the answer!

Once you find the dress you want then shop around on the internet and check the prices in different shops. I saved about £400 on my dress by buying online, and lots of girls have bought from USA to save money (just remember to add the shipping cost and 30% to the total for the customs charges!!)

Also ask about the cost of extras you might need like petticoats and alterations as this can make a difference to the price.

Most of all try on lots don't get rushed into a choice and have fun.