waxing, shaving or epilating? help!

hi ladies,

i have only ever shaved my legs, arms, bikini line. i really want something that is going to last longer though for my honeymoon, so i dont have to bother with shaving whilst im there? can anyone give some advice? shall i go to a salon for a full wax everywhere, do it myself, or get an epilator (what are they?) xxx please help xxx:\?

• MrsP-CMrsP-C Posts: 8,370
    Waxiung lasts longer and leaves a lovely silky feeling. I'd go to the salon though if youre not comfortable grabbing a friend and a home wax kit.
  • bammbammukbammbammuk Posts: 305
    I once bought an epilator. I didn't keep it long!!

It's like a little high speed rotating drum with lots of little sets of tweezers on.

I'm not good with pain and rather than just getting on with it, I did it gingerly a bit at a time and boy did it hurt!!

I then decided to have my legs waxed after that. Just grit your teeth for a few minutes and it's not too bad.

I have thick dark hairs and waxing tends to keep the majority of them at bay for a fortnight before a couple start to sneak through.

Waxing is probably your best option to keep hair free the longest
  • thankyou,

any tips on what brand of home waxing kit would you advice?

i dont think i would feel comfortable having my bikini line done in a salon but i imagine its hard to do yourself? xx
  • EmmaNYEEmmaNYE Posts: 194
    Hello

I'd say waxing. For me it doesn't hurt as much as epilating. Plus whenever I've used my epilator or waxed myself it takes me forever, whereas if you go to a salon it's quicker! I find the results usually last a couple of weeks and your skin is really soft after.
    Its pretty hard to wax yourself and your brain won't let yo pul the wax ogg quick or hard enough ! You could get a trusted friend to do you legs, but I'd advise going to the salon for somewhere as delicate as the bikini area..you dont want to be all bruised down there!