False nails etc

I am a little confused by the difference in all the nail types such as gel, tips, overlays etc. Can anyone explain?

[Modified by: cinderella on 30 July 2007 21:00:12 ]

• madterrymadterry Posts: 246
    I am a beauty therapist, most false nails will need to be what we call blended onto your natural nail, which basically means a false nail stuck on with glue then the join filed and buffed till smooth and it looks like your own nail, this on its own would only last days if that so thats why you have an overlay on the top to keep them strong and lasting. There 3 main types:

1.Gel, a thin layer is applied and then cured under a uv light, this is flexable, good for most nail types but in my opinion the least natural looking;but can be painted.

2.Acrylic, this is a powder that is mixed with a liquid to form a sort of paste. A good tecnician will do white on the tip, sculpting a curve and then pink on the lower half. This drys very strong but can get a shattered look if you bang or type alot on YAYW! How ever if done well is the most popular and natural looking; also the best for people who have bitten there nails to the quick as can be sculpted

3.Fibreglass, this is a fibreglass mesh that is then covered with glue and dried then repeated upto 4 times, white frech tips can be used and look great also they dont need blending so are not as harsh on the nails (unfortunatly some technicians can go mad with the file and blend!). they are flexible so great for typing, thin and natural looking but the dont wear as well i.e sun and water.