Forum home Archived I got married in 2011

Hi ladies, I'm new to all of this.

Hi ladies!!

Well this is my first post on here so please be gentle with me!! ;\)

Firstly, to introduce myself, I have been engaged to my Fiance for 13 months now, a month after we got engaged I found out I was pregnant and now we have an almost 5 months old baby girl!

After alot of talking the past few days we have decided to start planning out wedding for May 2011 - this gives me enough time to lose my baby weight image

We haven't told and of our families yet, we wanted to wait until we have found our venue and booked it first.

Our budget is going to be around £8-10,000 depending on when we do tell our families, if they can/want to contribute at all.

So thats me really!!

I am after some advice though, where do I start???? I've been on google looking at places, shall I get a shortlist of a few places and then make appointments to view them? How do I go about choosing my theme (I guess this depends on my venue?)

I did buy quite a few wedding mags when I was newly engaged, and esp loved YAYW and reading the real-life stories, so think I will treat myself to a subscription in the next few days.

Look forward to chatting to you all and planning our weddings!!

PG2 xx

Oh, I live in Southampton!!

• sprite68sprite68 Posts: 727
    Hi.

Congratulations on your engagement, forthcoming wedding & your beautiful baby girl - what a few months you've had!

We chose our venue first. Did a few searches on internet, then visited our favourite - we were lucky as we both loved it. Word of advice, get your registrar sorted out at the same time as your venue. We booked our venue, then phoned the registrar & they had no time slots left for the day we wanted so we had to change the day to fit in with both places. Don't book your venue & assume you will get a registrar or you may be disappointed.