Pushed out

Hi I am new to this and reading your stories about your Mothers being horrid I feel for you and wish some of you were my daughters.

Ever since my daughter announced her engagement it seems as if her father and I are being pushed away. We are contributing financially and have given them a figure to work with. (nothing has been offered from the grooms side). They want to do it all themselves, but grooms mother and father and sister want to do the flowers, decorate the cake and do the music and be bridesmaid.

I am itching to help out with ideas for catering, favours and invites etc, but she shrugs it off and says she and fiance will do it all.

Now to cap it all she thinks it would be nice to have just friends not family on the top table.

We used to be so close, my heart is at breaking point.

• Hi. I was really sad to hear your story. I am getting married next year but I hope I haven't made my mum or the grooms family feel the way you do. Is your daughter aware of what she's doing because it might be just that she's got so caught up in the wedding that she hasn't realised. It might be worth sitting down with her and explaining how youre feeling.

The other thing is that in my situation my mum can't really afford to contribute to the wedding and so the parents of the groom are paying for the reception. Because I don't want my mum to feel bad about this I've tried to give her little things to make her feel involved. Do you think this might be what your daughter is doing with the grooms family?
  • Thanks fordkim,

I am pretty sure they can afford to match us pound for pound, if they wanted to.

It does seem as if neither of them can say no to his family.

Even getting her to talk about the wedding is an effort. She isnt the best at coordinating and organising events and tends to leave things to the last moment

As she is my only daughter I did have this image of planning things together.