What are you doing about your surnames?

What are you doing about your surnames? Are you taking his? Keeping yours? Double-barrelling? Mixing the two to make an entirely new name? Tell us your plans and your reasons below for a Y&YW magazine Q&A!

Thanks!

• 1SmartBride1SmartBride Posts: 1,579
    I'm taking his.....I'm a bit of a traditionalist when it comes to that.
  • I've taken my husband's name. If my previous name was my maiden name I would have kept it for work/professional reasons as everyone knows me by that name, but as it was my ex-husband's name I didn't think that was appropriate!
  • My husband took my name. I didn't want to take his so he offered to take mine. He's not seen his dad since he was about 6 and I loathed the thought of taking the name of a man who abandoned his children and then passing that name onto my own children. I'm also studying for a PhD and it would be a lot of hassle as I've had work published in my name. I also just didn't see why as a woman I should have to take my husband's name. In this day and age, it should be a choice. To be honest, if my husband would have kicked up a fuss about me keeping my name, I would have had to sit down and have a think as to whether I would want to marry a man who saw me in that way, something that he owns. I saw no issue with us having different names, I didn't really consider him taking my name. I didn't suggest as his name is his own personal decision. It just so happens that he has no connection to his name, feels no attachment to it and it was important to him that we have the same name, so he said he would take mine.
  • NowMrsMackNowMrsMack Posts: 2,535
    I'll be taking my husband's surname! And I cannot wait! image
  • RowenaFWRowenaFW Posts: 2,078