Forum home Planning

When to send out wedding invitations

waid101waid101 Posts: 16 New bride
edited 15 April in Planning
Hello,

I've made a comment in the planning threads but thought I would ask the more general question here. 

When is the best time to send out wedding invitations?

My fiancé and I are getting married end of April 2021 and have had a little mock up of the types of invites we would like but that's it. 

We weren't planning on doing save the dates.

We were thinking of sending out the invites around end of October with RSVP end of January. We are giving guests a choice of two mains so they will have to send the RSVP back so we know what they want to eat. We also aren't going to do a wedding website. 

I'm starting to think we may need to reconsider. 

When will you be sending / did you send your invites out? 

Thanks x

• Samantha265Samantha265 Posts: 603 New bride
    Our wedding was on a Thursday in my half term (I'm a 6th form teacher) so we sent out save the dates well over a year in advance and then sent full invites out about 8 months in advance. We had a v small wedding but everyone needed to travel and sort accommodation so we figured why hang about. We also had to get meal choices etc in and were surprised by how many we had to chase and how often. We had 20 guests, no website or anything. The sooner the better I think.
  • Pixie2021Pixie2021 Posts: 22 New bride
    We are getting married July 2021. We are in the process of addressing the save the dates (which also have the website details on) to send out in May. I know it's super early but
     a) the wedding is a Saturday in July so people get booked
    b) with all the cancellations this year next year will be even busier for weddings and
    c) all my friends and family have been asking for them as they want things to look forward to with all this misery!