children at the reception

This is my first time to Y&YW so a big HELLO to you all. Hopefully you will be able to help, I am newly engaged and just starting to plan the wedding. Been with H2B for 10 years and we have 2 girls aged 3 and 9 months. Naturally I want them both to be my bridesmaids but with them being so young I can't help but worry about the evening reception, they will be exhausted! Has anyone else been in this situation?

• donna518donna518 Posts: 177
    hi amber and welcome i have a little girl who will be 2 when we get married and she went to a charity do last night and lasted til 12 but was tired and grumpy today can you take pushchairs for them to sleep or perhaps inlaws can take them home with them when they go we are getting married in barbados so my mom and dad will have sophie for the evening of the wedding and when we get back she will probably last for the evening do but will take pushchair for her anyway hope this helps x
  • feonaukfeonauk Posts: 281
    hello, i have two children my son will be five almost six and my daughter will be two and half when we get married next september.

I am booking a room for my young cousin ( will be 16) , who's very responsible, next to our room so she can take them to bed if they get too tired. I dont want them to miss out and will be at ease knowing i have someone to keep them amused whilst we are are busy, then if there are any problems we are literally next door or within the same building.

• Hi Donna, thanks for that. Think I will probably go with the pushchair idea and just cope with grumpy children the nxt day. Good luck with your wedding, Barbados, you lucky thing!