Venue budget

Firstly, hello everyone. I am a newbie here!

We are planning on getting married next Christmas, but currently trying to find a suitable venue. We're fairly open minded about it, but in an ideal world we would LOVE a barn.

The thing is, I can't seem to find what we want on our budget. We have 3.5k to cover venue and civil ceremony fees, and catering (including drink).

I would be happy to have a later ceremony, with just an evening buffet rather than a 3 course meal. In fact we don't want a formal meal, but this seems to be standard with most packages. We would also be happy to provide our own food and drink (providing the venue doesn't charge corkage).

Feeling a bit lost and stuck. I have no idea if our budget is reasonable, although I know it seems like a lot of money to me! Am I expecting too much?

• Depends where you and how many people you are having? xxx
  • kelbagkelbag Posts: 23
    Hi, I'm fairly new as well.

It sounds like you're after almost the same as I am. I even looked at Marquees but they're surprisingly expensive for a tent!!

Rather than a barn, have you thought about a village hall? I'm presuming as you mentioned barns you're in a countryish area.

I'm stuck with hotels or paying for transport for my guests as I live in the town but I want somewhere with gardens.

I'm trying to budget on £4000 for the ceremony, drinks reception, evening reception (I want a BBQ) and entertainment.
  • mistyscottmistyscott Posts: 729
    how many people are you thinking of having?

to keep costs down, make sure you don't get married on a bank hol - I am this Christmas and the registrar fees are over £350 image

£3.5k is probably do-able for a small-ish wedding, to include all the stuff you said. Whereabouts are you looking? Also, if it's Christmas you want to get married around (great choice!) then a barn will need to be well heated...

If you're near Hampshire, there's the Clock Barn, the Tithebarn, to name a few...