Forum home The wedding budget

How to book a registrar?

I am new to this! How do I book a registrar? I have booked my venue for July 2012 and have been told I can not book a registrar till a year to the date but from what I have read on some of these postings it sounds asthough I might be able to make a provisional booking.

Any help please x

• Are you getting married in the same district as where you live? If so, just go on your council website and look for the phone number of the superintendent registrar. Give him/her a ring and ask to make a provisional booking! image
  • EleEle Posts: 592
    We booked the registrar 14 months before the wedding. You can't give notice until the year in which you are marrying but i don't know of any restrictions regarding the booking of the date and time.

We checked the registrar was available before booking the venue, then made a provisional booking of the registrar. I am a teacher so the date was almost more important then the venue as we wanted to get married in the Easter hols and needed a specific date to allow wedding and honeymoon in the school hols.

I'd give them a call and get it booked.
  • hi we aren't getting married untill november 2012 and we booked our registrar yesterday (day after booking venue).

She just explained that all the legal stuff won't be until a year before but you should be able to make a booking image
  • NowMrsMaggsNowMrsMaggs Posts: 1,823
    We weren't allowed to even provisionally book until a year before. Just call them up and see what they say.
  • Thanks for everybodys help image I think I will give them a call today and try get something provisionally booked, im worried Ill have a venue and nobody to marry us! x
  • cm_prcm_pr Posts: 339
    I think it depends on your local county council. Mine won't even take provisional bookings earlier than a year to date before the wedding. I worry about them being taken on my day too!!