What do you look for in a Wedding Dress store?

So today I had my first day in my all time dream job, selling Wedding dresses! I am from a retail management back ground, including running Jewellers, but I am new to the world of Bridal (unless wedding rings count!?!) 

It is an independent shop I am working for, owned by a lovely woman who is a very talented dress maker. She is very busy with the bespoke wedding dress design and alterations side of the business, so my job is to boost the retail side of the business and sell the selection of gorgeous dresses she houses. One of the first things I want to do is understand what people look for in a Wedding Dress shop? Are there certain things that put you off? Things that make you think 'wow this is the shop for me'? The set up is quite unusual in that is on a main country road between two cities, 10 miles in between the two and is set in the grounds of her house. It is a self contained shop. It is rural on one side, very close to the New Forest, but a main road so not out of the way as such. How far would you consider traveling for a wedding dress shop? Do you ask for recommendations, Google local shops, Google specific designer stockists? 

I'd really appreciate your input and feedback so I can work out how to maximise this brilliant opportunity. Thanks xx

• bella2015bella2015 Posts: 1,903 New bride

Hi MrsM