Uh oh... Dress dilemma...

Ughhhhh!!!!!

Okay so my dilemma is this... 

I'm not getting married until 23 May 2020. And I'm a bridal stylist. So I wasn't planning on trying on/choosing my dress until Spring 2019. My issue is that I can't avoid wedding dresses so even once I find my dress, I'll still be surrounded by brides trying on dresses and don't want to doubt my choice or end up buying another!! 

BUT... The store I work in is having a "designer day" tomorrow. It's Stephanie Allin who, I'll admit, I didn't really know much about. But now that I've seen the dresses that will be in store I'm a little bit in love. The dresses are being brought from the flagship store in London and it's kind of a big deal. 

What do I do?! Do I try on the dresses I love incase I never get the chance to try them on again? Or do I stick to my plan and avoid avoid avoid til next year?

• Helen377Helen377 Posts: 13

I would avoid- think back to something you loved 2 years ago.... do you still love it now?! I think if you end up falling for one and buying it this early, you'll resent not being able to have the experience when you're nearer your wedding date. Just my opinion!

• Rach371Rach371 Posts: 1,096 New bride

I agree with Helen. Two years is a long time and fashions will change! Hold off buying anything now. 

• Thank you!!

The problem is... My dress in May 2020 will very likely be a 2019 collection dress (of whatever designer). The collections aren't usually in store until around October each year so the 2020 collections will be coming out October 2019 and I won't want to wait until then to order my dress.

I'm just so torn because these dresses are stunning... And I may well miss my opportunity of ever trying them on if I don't do so tomorrow. Still say don't try?

• Sian91Sian91 Posts: 829 New bride

Only you know your willpower/how committed you can be! I personally wouldn’t try them on because of fashions changing so much!