Venue vs. DIY in a field?! All advice please! x

Hello all,  absolute newbie here, but just wanted some advice form those who have considered or done a 'DIY wedding' in a field!

I haven't booked ANYTHING...don't know the date exactly (worried looks and nervous laughs from the audience!) - but it will be next Summer (2018), that after 19yrs and 2 kids together, we finally 'tie the knot'!.  On a rather modest budget, I want a fantastic looking venue...relaxed, but with a bit of structure at least..and want everyone to have a fantastic time!

Using a venue where they do the lot for you is obviously the least hassle...but seemingly the most expensive!  I've seen a few barn type venues which would give us more free reign with decorating and catering, but then looking at what we'd need to hire...the costs all mount up again!

I've been to so many weddings of all varieties...huge budget weddings, tiny but amazing DIY ones, ones at lovely venues but with no idea what anyone is meant to be doing...etc.  I know I want mine to look incredible and have lots of very creative and resourceful hands on deck.  I am undecided on food...either a really cool BBQ with lots of accompaniments...sharing boards on tables...or a sit down meal?