Wedding destination ideas wanted please :)

hi I'm new to all this so any advice would be fab! My partner and I definately want to get married abroad. However his ex wife is making it difficult saying his daughter cannot attend if abroad. I'm trying to be the piece maker and come up with a compromise! So looking for a wedding destination with short flight times (max 3 hours).

Only place definately don't want to go to is Italy (previously engaged and planned wedding in Italy so holds bad memories!)

Initially thought about Spain but no clue where abouts!

Does anyone have any views on Spain or any other alternative suggestions?

Many thanks xxx image

• suebubblessuebubbles Posts: 13
    what about Portugal my daughter is getting married there in a lovely place
  • Yes Portgual is lovely. Or how about Ibiza? There are meant to be some beautiful places to marry here, and less than 3 hours.

• adelly2005adelly2005 Posts: 194
    Some short flight destinations include France, Spain, Portugal, Mallorca, Ibiza, Menorca or Gibraltar.

I say Gibraltar as I lived there for 2 years and it is quite a popular choice for weddings as it is English speaking/£ Sterling currency and I think that because it is a british overseas territory this makes the legalities for marrying there a bit simpler? I think so anyway! It is only 40 mins drive from the Costa Del Sol in Spain so lots of options for where to stay and would offer sightseeing in Gibraltar and the beaches in Spain. The botanical Gardens in Gib are particularly lovely for weddings and they have a reception venue at the top of The Rock of Gibraltar so quite an interesting place!

Just another idea for you really! image
  • 321Grace321Grace Posts: 9
    hi Wonji1 image

so you want a short way to fly and it should be abroad, so what do think about the wonderful Island Tenerife?