Recommendations for weddings in Cyprus on a budget

Hi, Can anyone reccommend a nice place to get married in Cyrpus? Or anywhere abroad (has to be somewhere you only have to be in the country for a maximum of 3 days before getting married as we can only have a week holiday)

Were also hoping to do this as cheap as possible however we do have approx £5k to spend.

I'm new to all this so any advise would be appreciated.

• Steph2913Steph2913 Posts: 352

Hi mrsb2b8, just wanted to let you know there is no legal requirement to be in Cyprus for 3 days before your wedding. Planners will tell you this but just because its their preference and gives you a few days to finalise things when you're there. We're marrying just outside Paphos this Sept. We arrive Wed, visit town hall Thurs, marry Mon. Could have married Fri if we wanted, but preferred Mon

good luck with whatever you choose x

• MrsB2B8MrsB2B8 Posts: 39

Thank you! im learning already. Is there any other countries that this applies to? Which hotel have you choosen? Do you speak to the planner before you get there?

Thanks for the advice x

• Steph2913Steph2913 Posts: 352

Sorry, I don't really know about other countries. The other thing to look into is whether the marriage is legal in that country or whether you have to do the legal stuff in the uk. Is legal in Cyprus so nothing to do back home, but not in others (I think France and Spain for example, but I'm not 100% sure)

I don't have a planner. Doing all myself, direct with suppliers etc. and not getting married at a hotel. Staying in a villa for the week and marrying at a place called Vasilias, a small traditional taverna towards the troodos mountains 

theres a 'Cyprus brides to be' chat room on Facebook that might be worth joining. Loads of past brides, b2bs and suppliers (venues, photographers, make up, cakes and planners etc). You'll be able to get a load of ideas and advice from there image

• sal4sal4 Posts: 20