Forum home Weddings abroad

Destination wedding basic costs rules - help needed!!

Hi there all..firstly apologies if this had been asked previously..I am a newbie to planning a wedding and other this site!!! 

I would like to know who pays for guests accommodation etc for a wedding abroad..we were thinking about a villa in marrakech for approx 26 guests so then they just have their flights to pay for plus food/drink excl  the wedding day but honestly now I'm thinking .....mmmmm maybe not....being too generous????

If we go to Spain / Portugal would it be wrong that the guests pay for their own accommodation? And the duration be for 3 days not the 5 I had initially planned.

Would truly appreciate some advice..

Thankyou.

Pepiejo.x

• Sarah398Sarah398 Posts: 266

If I went to a wedding abroad I would expect to pay for my own travel and hotel.  

I know people who have gone to weddings abroad which have been all paid for & thought at the time that was very extravagant but lovely x

• Sarah683Sarah683 Posts: 1

There is absolutely no expectation that you pay for their accommodation!

We have booked exclusive use of a venue which also has accommodation on site for our guests (there will be 40 of us in total). The venue won't accept individual payments from guests, which is not uncommon, so the options are (a) we fund all accommodation costs, or (b) guests pay us.

I would much rather that the amount which guests pay us is then invested back into the wedding for an open bar, better food, music etc. We are thinking a nominal sum per room so we are subsidising their accommodation quite heavily. The wedding will be over 3 days we will have all meals put on for them - breakfast, dinner the night before, post-wedding brunch etc... so it really is just flights and accommodation for guests!