How can i tell my friend im getting married at her venue?

Hey guys im just starting out in the process of organising my wedding.

My friend of 20 yrs got married a year ago in Aruba, i was asked to attend but at the time it wasnt financially doable so i attended her reception in the uk. Iv been waiting a long time to get married but we have never been able to afford a uk wedding due to the sheer expense of it plus we both have huge families (guest cutting would be a big no no).

I was never interested in marrying abroad but my h2b has suggested it loads of times (more affordable/amazing pics/built in honeymoon/small and intimate ect...) but when i saw my friends pictures i fell in love with the idea and we can afford it too.

The only problem is iv fell in love with aruba, it ticks all our boxes plus the best deal (cheapest deal) just happens to be a the same resort she chose 😣. Its a complex consisting of 2 sister hotels and the better deal is at the sister hotel to the one she picked but its all under the same named resort. I cant afford any of the others as its over the budget.

How do i tell her? Iv no idea wether she will be pissed and think im deliberatly copying her or if she will be flattered and excited about going back (she will be on the guest list). Were not marrying inside the hotel like she did but on the beach and its not the same hotel. Plus by the time we have got the money together her wedding will have been just under 3 years ago.

Were doing it regardless as its what we want but im afraid of the reaction as she can sometimes see any similarities as deliberate, for example if someone at a party turns up in the same dress as her. She went ballastic as her cousin ended up choosing wedding flowers quite similar to hers 😮

How do i break it to her? Has anyone else had to have the same conversation or how you felt if its happened ti you? 

Thanks fellow brides xxx

• Rach371Rach371 Posts: 1,122 New bride