Declaration of Freedom

HI 

Getting married in paphos, nee to sort of the declaration of freedom, i stuck as to if they need to be on letter headed paper or if a solicitors signature and stamp is sufficient enough. I looked at lots of post and cant get a straight answer on any of them HELP 

• GinAndBlingGinAndBling Posts: 1,311 New bride

I'm a solicitor and get asked to swear these a lot. People generally bring in the statutory declaration, printed themselves, and have to "swear" it in front of me. You basically have to confirm you are who you say you are and that the declaration is true. I would then sign to confirm that you have sworn the stat dec in front of me, provide my details and stamp with my company stamp with address etc on. Noone has ever come back and said this isn't enough! 

It's often the case that if a solicitor doesn't have an official stamp they need to provide you with their letterhead or similar, with a signature on it. 

We have a set fee that we are allowed to charge (£5 for the declaration and £2 per exhibit) under current legislation. It's not changed since 1993! 

I'd ring around your local solicitors, they will tell you what to do. 

Our planning thread: We're completely winging it.
    Our report: A fun, classic May day in navy and blush
    My weightloss thread: Diet denial! 
  • Sarah1096Sarah1096 Posts: 3

Thank you so much for that all this planning for the wedding abroad is so confusing, i have spoken with 7 solisitors around me and they have all said they are unsure and if it needs to be letter head that the cost will be around £300 for both letters and then to take to another solicitor to sign 

If it is just a stat dec that you need to be sworn, you can prepare it yourself. There's an example here: https://www.weddingsabroadguide.com/cyprus-legal-requirements.html

The solicitor won't be involved other than to swear it.