Marrying in Italy in August. Bad idea?

I work in a school and have the month of August off. I have heard this month is the peak of the summer season, but for timing purposes and ability to travel around the country for our honeymoon after- it is looking like our only choice. Is the heat/temperature bearable during this month? We are looking to book a venue on the Amalfi Coast. 

Also- best venue recommendations you can provide!!? and GO :smiley:

• Ashley72Ashley72 Posts: 1,137 New bride
    It will be very hot but it depends on what kind of timeline you follow and what kind of venues you choose. If you have an outdoor ceremony or reception you’d probably want to avoid noon-early evening as it is the hottest part of the day & guests would be uncomfortable for prolonged periods. I’d look for outdoor spaces with shade and opt for an earlier/later ceremony and then an air conditioned venue for the reception. 

We are getting married in May in Tuscany and hoping for temperatures in the early to mid 20s. There are May and October bank holidays in most schools - could you consider one of those? Temperatures would definitely be cooler in both but still a good chance of lovely weather.
  • Unfortunately the only other 'long' breaks we receive are a week. Which won't be long enough to marry and then honeymoon. And my job also does not allow for days off around a holiday :( The more I research the more I'm becoming discouraged about having this in Italy as I'm coming across the holiday Ferragosto which supposedly causes most of Italy to close. 
  • Matt20Matt20 Posts: 31 New bride