BFP after BFN?

Hi ladies

Been on the wedding part of the site before but this is my first time on here. Been TTCing for a few months now and AF has been pretty regular 28-30 days each cycle. Was expecting AF on Sunday CD29 but no sign. Did ebay cheapie test on CD30 but in the afternoon and got BFN. Did another this morning CD32 (a tesco one) and again BFN. Just wondering a couple of things, have seen some people have said that tesco tests aren't very good, does anyone have experience getting BFP after a BFN on one? Also I struggle to use the midstream tests and I tend to gather (sorry if TMI) P in a post and put test in it. Could that affect the result? Thanks for reading

[Modified by: DoubleD on 30 September 2009 07:23:15 ]

• Hey there,

I don't have much experience I'm afraid, but I have read loads of posts on this board and so can tell you what I've read.

A fair few people have had false BFNs but not false BFPs, some ladies have tested two or three times in the same cycle before getting a positive result, but it's usually been only a couple of days after AF is due and no later.

I don't know anyone who has used the tesco pg tests, are you testing first thing in the morning? I don't think that using the pot method would affect your result as long as it's your first urine of the day that you are using.

Have you been stressing about anything lately, that could have affected AF and made it late? I've heard that stress can also affect ov, but I'm not sure exactly how - i.e. stops you ov during the month or makes it happen later in your cycle. I've also been told that you get AF approximately 14 days after ov.

Have you had any kind of symptoms of either AF or pg?

Don't know if any of this helps you at all, I hope it answers a few questions - if you're really still unsure in a couple of days time perhaps it would be worth having a chat with your doc to see if he/she can shed any light on what's going on?

Best of luck to you hun.