Nervous new mum 2b ...What to do next!!

Hi Ladies,

I was due my period this morning but kind of had a feeling it might not arrive. Did a test and hey presto a BFP!

I was shaking like a leaf (still am). Just took me completely by surprise. Had been feeling a bit strange for the last few days and although we weren't trying, we weren't exactly completely careful!!

I'm just wondering what exactly I need to do now. I'm only 4 weeks pg so it's very early days. I don't want to start telling people yet so I can't ask for advice!! I would really appreciate it if you could tell me if there is any suppliments I should start taking or when do I contact a doctor etc etc.

I'm sure these questions have been asked a million times but I am totally new to this and I haven't a clue what I need to do!

I'm also waiting for my husband to come home from work so I can tell him he's going to be a daddy!image

Thanks a million x

• Congratulations!

Main thing at the moment: Are you taking folic acid yet? It is very important in the first 3 months!

Good luck

• Hi Selkie,

Thanks for replying. Am taking folic acid the last couple of months since I came off the pill, just in case!

The main thing I'm worrried about now is all the talk about swine flu. Is there any thread about taking the vaccine?

Thanks xx
  • LJSuk1LJSuk1 Posts: 673
    Congratulations hun xxxx
  • gemsy81gemsy81 Posts: 918
    Hi hun make sure you get an appointment with your GP, they don't do a right lot but will refer you to a midwife. I think there was a swine flu vaccine thread on here a few weeks ago, Im 18 weeks pregnant with twins and I think I might have to get it as the pros outweigh the cons for me but it is different for everyone. A good website to join/look at is www.babycentre.co.uk as they have all sorts of advice and information on there, from calculating your due date to what to do when you find out you're pregnant. And we are all here if you need advice xxxxx