The right time rant...

I get that there is never a 'right time' to have a baby...however there are obviously more practical times and it is worth thinking about these when planning.

So I have been thinking a lot recently about our practicalities and I've realised that it is unlikely that things are going to dramatically change any time soon.

Apologies for the long post...

I have been doing maternity cover for the last 18 months and have always been facing going back to my original permanent post which I hate. There are no permanent jobs in my dream department (or anywhere else in the company) but there is another maternity cover coming up and there is an incredibly high chance that I will get it.

My new maternity cover role will mean another payrise so I can get some real savings going for my own maternity leave. Plus due to how maternity cover works where I am employed the chance of me being left without a job due to redundancy is incredibly slim.

My husband is self employed and has been since we got married just over two years ago. He is looking at setting up his own business as he is currently a sports coach so it is highly likely that money will continue to be a sticky issue for the forseeable future.

We have just had another conversation about trying for a baby and he is still insisting he's not ready and wants to wait to set up his business first (no consideration whatsoever to what I would like). On the surface this is somewhat sensible but he has been wanting to set this up for two years now.

I did explain that:

1) I wont catch immediatly and even if I did, its still 9 months absolute bare minimum, however I am like clockwork on the pill so fully expect to take a while.

2) We don't have to 'try' in the sense of using fertility aids or ovulation kits and well timed snuggles. I am happy to simply stop taking the pill and leave it entirely to fate - its not like we go at it like rabbits anyway.