Forum home You & Your Baby

HR advice

Hi there, I wondered if anyone who works in HR might be able to help an advise me.

I started maternity leave 29/1/14  (the day my daughter was born, she was 7 weeks early) and planned to take a full year off.

My husband and I have recently found out we are expecting baby no2! Due middle of May.

So when I am due to go back I will be 24 weeks. As I had a premature baby last time and they do not know why I have been told it wold be likely again and I should rest as much as possible. What I want to know is, I know I can't start MAT leave until 29 weeks but as I am owed 7 weeks holiday, can I return to work for eg 1 day 30/1/15 then immediately take my holiday before starting my second lot of MAT leave when I'm 32 weeks? 

Im sure this will annoy my employers but if I'm legally allowed to do so and for the protection of my unborn child I would to do so. 

I work as a retail manager so am on my feet all day, so pretty sure my doctors and midwife will advise me not to work in my 3rd trimester.

any advise would be great. Thanks.

• MISSFMISSF Posts: 123

Hi nooey, firstly congrats on falling pregnant again image I work in the NHS so mat leave/rights are slightly different but to be entitled to mat leave for  2nd time the employee has to be back in work for (i think) 3months..I'm not sure if this would be able to be taken as holiday. Are you part of a union? They are the best people to ask as they know policy's inside out.

xx

• Congratulations on your second Nooey! I don't work in HR but I know a wee bit about maternity leave/pay as my mum does some payroll.