Baby Shower for a absolute newbie

I have been asked to co-plan a baby shower for my friend who is expecting her first child in May. It will be myself, her sister and another of her friends all working together to plan the day. In case its relevant, both her sister and i are getting married, her sister next year and me early the year after. 

She said where she wanted it, which is fine by us, takes away one of the hardest parts, and shes got a list of about 26 people. 

My issue/concern is - ive never planned a baby shower - so who pays for it? It looks like it'll be an afternoon tea type thing, at around £15-£20pp (£20 if you want champagne) but obviously for 26 people this is a huge amount. 

Are the 3 of us expected to pay, or is it normal/ok to ask people to pay for their own food? Obviously we will cover between the 3 of us things like decorations and a cake, but i really dont have a clue at all what im doing. 

Also if anyone has any general tips, tricks or ways to make it amazing please let me know. I feel like its going to turn into a baby shower version of Bridesmaids with this 3 way hierarchy. 

• MrsCToBeeMrsCToBee Posts: 2,954 New bride
    You ask people to pay for their own, and get them to pay you in advance, or at least a deposit. You would be expected to sort decorations, cake if you are having one, and cover the cost of the mum to be.
  • MrsTwizbeMrsTwizbe Posts: 3,352 New bride
    I have planned one baby shower, but it was at the mum to be's house. Personally I hate baby showers but they are becoming so much more of a thing now a days.
    In your case, the guests can pay for themselves (bit like a hen do). I have some fun games you can do though.

1) birth day sweepstake - print out a calendar with 2 weeks before due date and 2 weeks after and ask people to pick a day that baby will be born (only works if no planned c section) £1 a go and winner takes all. If baby comes on a day no one picks, baby gets the winnings.