Membrane Sweep anyone????? sounds painful

Morning everyone,

Saw the midwife yesterday and shes booked me in for a membrane sweep end of next week. Everything i've read it sounds horrible and painful, I've also heard that they don't usually work???

image not happy want a baby without being prodded and poked by people!!!

• littlewulflittlewulf Posts: 2,061
    I'm a midwife Tuscan Bride, you don't have to have anything you don't want. just politely decline and let nature take it's course xx
  • Hi i had two membrane sweeps. I was overdue, having very strong contractions but was not dialating(sp?)

The first was very painful, very uncomfortable. I burst into tears because i felt so violated.

The second wasn't so bad. The doctor was very nice and explained what she was doing and told me to tell her if she was hurting me.

If you do have to have it done make sure you speak up if it gets too uncomfortable or painful.

Or as sparklebride said just politely decline the procedure.

Cat xxx
  • BRIDE100BRIDE100 Posts: 884
    My sis had two of these. She didn't say they were painful - more uncomfortable and embarrassing as it was with the midwife she had been seeing for months! They didn't work but worth a try I guess.
  • rachaelafryrachaelafry Posts: 4,271
    I had one when my second child was overdue, it was a tad uncomfortable while she did it but quite painful for the rest of the day, like really bad stomach pains, I wouldnt have another and it didnt work either however, my friend had one and she went into labour the same evening.xxx
  • Hi I'm a midwife too and as Sparklebride says it's up to you whether you have it done or not. My only piece of advice would be to say if you're keen to avoid being induced and want to go into labour naturally then it may be worth giving it a go as you've got nothing to lose. They usually are abit uncomfortable but if you end up being induced anyway then you'll be poked and prodded about anyway!