Forum home Your DIY ideas

Honest thoughts - doing your own cake

Hi all, looking for some opinions and hopefully a consensus on whether this is a DIY step too far.

I want a semi-naked cake of some description and i'm just not sure i want to spend say £300 on cake! Especially when so many people say it gets left! I am a keen baker and feel i could do it as there's not much decoration and its not about perfection as its meant to look a little rustic. 

Has anyone made one before? how in advance can this be done? Can i do it all the day before and then just get someone to set it up on the morning of?

We do have tables and chairs to set up, decorations to do etc but we could do this 2 days before the wedding and have an army of helpers so i don't think it will take too long.

Honest thoughts please on if you've done it how it went? are you planning on doing it? 

• MrsJ2017MrsJ2017 Posts: 3,017

If you can bake and make it taste good then possibly.

but as its naked itll dry out apparently so I wouldnt want to make it too early. I suppose it depends on whether you think youll have time in the couple of days before?

is there any family or friends who will be able to help ir even take over the cake if you end up not having much time?

• wed172Bwed172B Posts: 1,258