Our Frosty Winter Wedding - The Planning Thread

I have been browsing through threads on this site for a couple of months or so, and have really enjoyed reading about other brides' plans and seeing their weddings unfold

Now that I have a few bits sorted for my own wedding I thought I would start my own thread. I don't know if anyone will be interested or want to read it, but it will allow me to keep track of my plans! 

• The Background

Mr W and I met about 18 months ago and got engaged on my thirtieth birthday in September. We had only been together a little over a year, and although I wouldn't have thought I'd become engaged so soon into a relationship, I just knew that it was the right thing to do. He is a bit older than me, and we decided that there was no point hanging around when we both knew that we were in it for the long run, as it were

Although the engagement became official in September, we had talked/joked previously about 'when we get married'. Perhaps another reason for the engagement and wedding coming earlier than may have originally been planned or imagined was Mr W being diagnosed with cancer earlier this year

He found a lump in his neck, which seemed very large for a lymph node. He hadn't been ill, and the lump wasn't going away, so we went to see an ENT surgeon. He had tests, and to cut a long story short, an excision biopsy revealed that he did have cancer. Not cancer of the lymph node, but of the tonsil. It still isn't clear whether the cyst (as it turned out to be) was part of the cancer or not, but either way, it was the cyst that led us to the final diagnosis

The good news was that we had caught it early. Treatment was the surgery that had already occurred, plus concurrent chemotherapy and radiotherapy. The plan has been to cure the cancer completely