Has anyone cancelled a photographer?

funfetticake2345funfetticake2345 Posts: 4 New bride
edited December 2018 in Your planning threads

X

• Unfortunately that's exactly what deposits are for. 
    You may be able to ask that if they are able to re-book the date at the same cost, (unlikely at this point - most people book photographers first so anyone with a date 9 months away will be expecting a discount) then you get it back but they have no legal obligation to return any of that deposit to you. 

• It's a strange one.  As a photographer I spend a lot of time on forums/facebook groups etc and general consensus is that you cannot keep an unreasonable amount of a deposit.  Yes contracts are there for a reason, but if the contract isn't fair to begin with then legally it won't hold up.

A deposit should be proportionate to the amount of work undertaken at that point.  Has he done 50% of the work involved? Of course not, so he should not be keeping that amount.  It is fair and reasonable of him to retain funds that cover any admin work already undertaken, as well as anything like pre wedding shoots/visits etc, but if you were to take him to court over it, he will almost certainly lose.  
    Obviously I'm not suggesting you take such drastic action!  Perhaps going down the route of "we are giving you 9 months notice etc, would you be willing to give us a partial deposit refund as a gesture of good will"?  Being nice will usually get you better results, but if it doesn't work then perhaps you could go down the harsher route?  9 months is still a good amount of time too be able to rebook a date (as a former member of this forum, it is easy to think that everyone plans their wedding with 2 years to go, but the reality is around half of my bookings book with less than a year to go).